Tell Us About Your Amazing Collection!

We recently collected pictures and stories about our readers’ greatest collections, and the results were fascinating. Eyelashes, whiskers, cocktail sticks, you guys have some incredible interests, and we want to hear about more! Check out the original article below, and then tell us about your collection here in the forums!

I’ve been collecting tap bells for about forty years; my collection numbers about 100.

I have two collections that might be considered fairly unique:

1. (Pre-)vintage era Finnish-language textbooks and grammars of the English language.
    The cut-off is about 1960 or so, but in practice based on the physical size of the volume and lack of color illustrations. I haven’t officially been collecting English readers, but some of the books I have now are of that sort (with vocabulary and/or grammar sections in Finnish). They are in no particular order in this photo.

2. Front-page headlines about the weather from Finnish daily news tabloids.
    Finland has two major news tabloids (Ilta-Sanomat and Iltalehti), both published 6 times a week. Sometime within the last 10-15 years or so (I’ve only been living here for 5 but noticed this while digging through archives), their editors got the idea that since people love talking about the weather, they could sell papers by putting weather-related items on the front page, even when there are plenty of other newsworthy topics they could highlight.
    Since Summer 2015 it’s been part of my daily routine to snap a photo of the front page or newsstand poster if I see a weather headline, and posting it online along with an English translation and/or commentary. The collection currently has about 570 posts (there’s an occasional post that doesn’t show a headline from those 2 papers, or is slightly off-topic, but also many posts where I address both paper’s headlines at once).

You can find the collection here: Tabloid Weather