Tracing a town with a square with a lovely scent, near Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

Hi folks,

Back in 1987, as a medical doctor I paid a visit to the New Mexico University. As part of the agenda they kindly had arranged for me to visit several towns, not so distant from Albuquerque, in order to have a look at various ambulatory clinics where medical students were being trained. I remember one of those towns, in which I saw a charming square, very spanish like, with sidewalks, arcs, columns and a variety of souvenir and artisan shops. There was something very unusual around that square: an aroma, a lovely scent that was everywhere. It came out of something looking like seeds/nuts placed in barrels full of them. They were bright green (although rather artificialy coloured) and oily. I bought some and my family was pleased to have that lovelly scent back at home for many months. Unfortunatelly I don’t remember the name of that town. I have unsusccessfuly tried to find out where was that by sending emails to local people in New Mexico. I wonder if that help you to locate that place for me. I have thought that may be it was Santa Fe, but there is no reference whatsoever to those seeds/nuts in their web pages.

Any help?

Pablo Liendo
Endocrinologist
Caracas, Venezuela

3 Likes

There are a lot of towns in New Mexico laid out in Spanish fashion, but see if Taos is perhaps the town that you visited. I’ve been thinking very hard of what could be the seeds/nuts you refer to, but nothing fits the description. We have a lot of pistachio trees, which produce green and oily nuts, but they’re not very strongly scented. Though the green husks are almost pine-scented. There are also pinon nuts, which are oily but not overly green (except if they were picked while unripe). Me, when I think of green things that smell good, I always think of roasting green chiles. That’s the scent that drives New Mexicans wild!

1 Like

Piñon nuts!

1 Like