Visiting San Diego in 2 weeks. Where should I go and what should I do?

Hi everyone,
I’m going to be visiting San Diego in about 2 weeks and I’ll have about a week to wander. Other than the places listed in the San Diego guide, what else would you recommend? I will not have a car and was planning on walking (I can walk a lot), public transportation and taxis/uber/etc., to get around. What should I check out? What neighborhoods would you recommend?
A little about me:

• Avid reader (I’m a librarian),
  • Old punk,
  • Hiker,
  • I like food and beer,
  • Museums and learning are fun for me,
    Any help is appreciated.
2 Likes

Welcome! San Diego is pretty amazing - it may be tricky getting around without a car, but it’s doable (we do have the trolley and other transit, and uber/lyft, and byrd scooters and bikes all over). Let me see what I can suggest based on your bullets. :slight_smile:

• Balboa Park and its museums could easily take up a whole day, without including the zoo, etc. Tons of museums (some are free and there’s a museum pass available), and the buildings are beautiful and historic (from the 1915 World’s Fair). If you go on a Sunday, there’s a free organ concert, little “cultural cottages” and the Spanish Village has great little art studios. Plus, the zoo is right there and tons of hiking trails and gardens (including a tea house).
  • Old Town is fun - a state park that dates from our days as part of Mexico, and lots of neat little shops and restaurants.
  • hiking is EVERYWHERE here but might be tough to get to without transportation - people rave about hiking to Potato Chip Rock.
  • Breweries all over town! Plenty of craft beer to quench your thirst.
  • farmer’s market/street fairs pretty much every day and they usually have great street food too. Saturday’s market in Little Italy is my favorite, and Weds night in Ocean Beach (aka “OB”) is hippie-tastic and great people watching