"What a Viral Video of a Coyote and Badger Says About Interspecies Duos" Discussion Thread

Welcome to the discussion thread for the story, What a Viral Video of a Coyote and Badger Says About Interspecies Duos. You can share your comments and thoughts about the story in the conversation below.

1 Like

I’m a conservation biologist and found this fascinating. I live where both species occur and now hope to observe this behavior one day. One note to AO though, and not a negative criticism, the badger pictured at the article title is a European badger, which is a different species than the American badger. To be clear, there are no coyotes in Europe.

1 Like

This is the kind of observation I live for. For me, one of the great joys in life is listening to people who know their S* add clarification or correction, however immaterial, to a discussion.

In regards to the story, not only do I find inter-species interaction adorable (high d’aww factor here despite the predatory nature of both animals) but the symbiosis is fascinating.

1 Like

Thank you AO for correcting the badger image.

I don’t really understand how the badger would put up with the coyote snatching the food once he dug it out. There must be more success this way, but I can’t wrap my brain around it yet.