What brought you here to Atlas Obscura?

Hey everybody!

I’m just wondering how you came to this community - is it because you like the content? Are you writers and contributors to the site in general?

I’ve been a big fan of AO for ages and attended an oyster event in Portland, but just started contributing my own content, which led to this community.

So tell me - who are you? And Hello!

Zac
(full time travel since 8/15)

4 Likes

I wish I could remember how I got here but I’ve been enjoying the posts and recommendations for at least a few years. Been a traveler probably longer than you’ve been alive and often like off-beat locales and quirky destinations.

5 Likes

I’m not certain how I stumbled onto the forum. Could it have been that there was mention of it in the email blast or something on the AO site? Years ago my girlfriend started sending me links to stories at AO and eventually got me an AO book for Christmas. I’ve been a regular reader since.

5 Likes

I suppose that depends on how old you think I am, right?

I once admired a co-workers shoes and he said: I’ve had these shoes longer than you’ve been alive! We did the math and sure enough, the shoes were “older” than me.

Also, I found that I had the same birthday as a co-worker. She asked the year and when I told her, she said: That’s the year I graduated from High School, you little sh!t!

It was hilarious.

2 Likes

I didn’t know there was an AO book! (googling)

1 Like

Unique places, odd sites, & urge a AO Tours Co to see said sites with cruise lines esp for inport tours in given areas, Needed. Love to reuse, repurpose places

2 Likes