What should a museum fanatic see and do in Buenos Aires?

I’m a history buff who has done most of my traveling in Europe and North America. I’m going to be spending a week in Buenos Aires in May. I’m a bit worried about the emphasis on night life and people-watching in most info I’ve seen online about the city. Nothing wrong with that, of course, it’s just not my thing. Beside history and culture, I’m a foodie, so that should be easy to satisfy in Bs.As! Can anyone recommend museums or tours that would be of interest?

2 Likes

I sure can! I studied there for a semester in college.

History to dip into ahead of time:

• Peronism
  • Jose de San Martin
  • The Dirty War, the Monteneros

Some great Borges stories featuring the city (and the outskirts):

• The Aleph
  • Man on Pink Corner
  • The Zahir

Must-see Museums:

• MALBA
  • Xul Solar museum
  • Recoleta Cemetery

Food:

• Just about any parilla. The steak in BsAs really is all that and more, and you basically can’t go wrong. La Cabrera is always a hit, but you can feel confident going to any highly rated parilla that is near where you find yourself on a given day.
  • Don’t forget gelato; it is everywhere and utterly amazing
  • Don’t order all meat; the vegetables are also raised on the Pampa, and are as world-class as the beef!

Shopping-type stops:

• El Ateneo Grand Splendid
  • San Telmo antique/flea market

Nightlife

• Go watch people tango at milonga
  • La Bomba de Tiempo is a really excellent, long-running drum concert

4 Likes

Thanks lukert33, that’s a great list!

1 Like

Hi, @Roxmachine ! Disclaimer, I’ve never been to Buenos Aires. On principle, I normally don’t make recommendations for places I’ve never been to, but I’m obsessed with the history of Peronsim, so I do feel like I could make a few suggestions that you might like. Be forewarned, this is Eva Peron-heavy!